A few new tricks


I had a wonderful time during this class. We had a substitute ( A chef that we will be working with next MOD) and he is just so full of neat tricks and technique. I love learning new things! I made two chocolate hazelnut dome cakes, two lemon mousse dome cakes and a giant roulade. In the Chocolate Hazelnut Dome Cake there was chocolate chiffon,vanilla syrup, hazelnut mousse, hazelnut buttercream and a chunky chcolate glaze. In the Lemon Mousse Dome Cake there was vanilla chiffon, lemon syrup, lemon mousse, lemon curd and whipped cream. The Roulade was a coffee roulade with choclate mousse, caramel mousse and vanilla buttercream.

Making a cake round at the top and making a glaze chunky were two things I had been taught not to do. So, of course I was excited to try it! For the dome cakes you put a layer of cake, filling, cake and then a dome of filling and then you cover that dome with another slice of cake and chill. Then you can glaze or frost, what ever you want. To smooth the top you take a piece of paper and wipe up over the top of the cake as opposed to leveling it off with your offset. That was a really neat trick. The Roulade was a checker board pattern on the inside. The Chef and I went back and forth with the different flavors and when you cut into it it looks like a checker board. Then to smooth the buttercream on top of it you take a piece of parchment paper and wrap it around the whole cake and just pull. :]

I got to make one of the logs into a birthday cake for someones mom, i’m not sure if I like it, but I tried. I always get so nervous when decorating a cake for someone, I don’t want to mess it up! At the same time it also gives me a little rush because you have to get it right…I love pressure!  Can I tell you something? Piping on a log shaped cake is challenging..Haha but good hint : if your cake is frozen and you pipe on warm chocolate and mess up you can just brush it off..you’ll never know how many times I messed up on this cake so HA! I also think that the sides I ended up doing look like old lady shoulder pads but..oh well. Script is by Chef Philippe.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A few new tricks

  1. Tori

    Wow! Miss Lexie, you’re so talented! 🙂 I love seeing everything you make.

Leave a Reply

